Goodie Mob – Soul Food

It’s such a blessing when my eyes get to see the sun rise
I’m ready to begin
Another chance to get further away from where I’ve been
But I’ll never forget
Every thing I went through, I appreciate the shit
Because if I hadda went and took the easy way,
I wouldn’t be the strong nigga that I am today
Every thing that I did, different things I was told,
Just ended up being food for my soul

I really love this song, and the whole album it came in. Despite having listened to Outkast for years, I was fairly ignorant of the charms of Goodie Mob until earlier last year. Gospel flavoured rap and a hint of the heights Cee Lo would later reach made this a great listen for me.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

