Running

I opted not to renew my gym membership. It wasn’t a terribly expensive membership, being a Sports Council gym rather than any of the higher end commercial gyms (although truth be told I got the membership so that I would feel obligated to go, as I’m sure many do).

While I still feel the urge to lift weights (anybody who works out can tell you you can actually feel your muscles atrophy slightly when you stop going to the gym regularly) I’ve picked up the slack a bit by running. I used to run regularly, then on-and-off and then not at all outside of hitting the treadmill at the gym. I’m slowly picking up the pace.

I used to not be able to run at all before NS, any type of running would leave me winded. That’s at least one thing I’m grateful to the SAF for.

One of the things I really like about running is that it gives you time to think, away from the distractions of the world. I really like the solitude and while these days I find it difficult to run without having earphones plugged in I’m thinking of doing away with the mp3s/radio and just running for the sake of it. Running; good for the mind, body and soul.

Peace.

Tagged

5 thoughts on “Running

  1. Raul Alanis says:

    I think everyone needs an mp3 player to run. It allows you to concentrate on other things rather then your breathing. I never used to be a long distance runner but last year I started and I love it. It’s amazing what your body is capable of and how much running is so mental…

    http://www.wutevs.wordpress.com

  2. I like running because you can just switch off. Pop some headphones in and chill out. I find that if I concentrate on the music, I dont notice that I get out of breath. Like Raul said above… its all in the mind.

  3. Robinson says:

    Sometimes, especially if you trail run – it is nice to unplug and just go, no mp3 player – just you and nature. It can make you think about all sorts of different things as your mind goes everywhere.

    However, when you haven’t been running for a while – or you are just getting into it, the MP3 seems to help out ALOT!

    Once and Future Runner

  4. Karin says:

    I love running as well, in particular stairs. I only can recommend to add some type of running to his or her daily routine. It helps with stress, prevents becoming sick and boost your mood.

    Sincerely Karin

  5. korieh says:

    I totally agree with you that you don’t really need a gym membership, and can often stay in shape simply by running. Running is great exercise, and it will definitely help to tone or get rid of any unwanted pounds.

    I also agree with how running gives you time to just think, and escape from the world. I feel the same way! For the 30 minutes out of the day that I usually run I am able to forget all my troubles and just focus on my feel pounding on the pavement. It’s really an exhilarating feeling.

    Best,

    Korie

Leave a Reply

