Angry Achmed?

Part of why I’ve been blogging only on occasion is that there hasn’t been much to blog about. Being unemployed has seemed particularly horrible for almost three months, and it didn’t help that at times (sometimes once a day) the dread of being unemployed for the long term seemed to hit very close to home.

All sorts of things float through your head. I should’ve done better for my O Levels/A Levels/University grades, I should’ve gone to poly,I should’ve picked a different major, I should’ve signed on to the army, I should’ve applied there…

And everybody’s got advice on what you should do, which is often enough at odds with others advice on what’s wrong and what needs to be done. As noted earlier I use my mother’s computer, and when she saw the folder with all my cover letters she asked why there were so many. I think I felt a bit of incredulity about that, as though the reason I couldn’t get a job was because I wasn’t applying.

I wanted to post this to get it off my chest, out of frustration and because sometimes release is necessary.

Now though I’m just happy to say that I’m starting work on Monday, Alhamdulillah. The pay isn’t great, but on the bright side it’s much better than what I would’ve gotten had I gotten a permanent position at my last place of work, and it’s much closer to my home and I don’t think I’ll have much in the way of qualms about the work.

Insya-Allah all goes well.

Peace.

Tagged

One thought on “Angry Achmed?

  1. lindagunther says:

    Ehhh, okay what the pay. Especially during a recession. I got the same pay when the economy was doing well lor. hur hur. wah i so underpaid!

Leave a Reply

