Rizq Management

Like most people I believe, I have only the slimmest understanding of the topic of Fiqh, a voluminous understanding of which eludes even the best of us.

I lacked a good understanding of the concept of zakat, which meant that for years I did not in fact what pay what I was supposed to. So when it was pointed out to me, I thought the best thing to do would be to pay as much of it as I could spread out over several years.

This year was the first time I had ever had a full-time, permanent job (disregarding the fact that it’s still a contractual position, the terms were still better than any other job I’d had prior to this) so I decided to up the amount significantly. I have to say that it felt very good to be able to give out as much money as I did. But after that, guilt started setting in. My savings weren’t increasing at a rate that I was happy with and were pretty much static for a long while. I began worrying that I’d done the wrong thing. My ingratitude at the simple pleasure of not having to worry where my next meal was coming from was enormous.

And then I got my bonus, and I realised that my worries in that regard were unfounded. I’d more than enough to make up for what ever I had spent on my zakat, and still build up my savings. I felt very small at that point because I’d forgotten a simple fact: Allah provides.

It doesn’t mean of course that I can simply spend freely and trust in God to take care of my finances, but just that as a Muslim I need to remember where all things come from.

“Whatever of good you give benefits your own souls, and you shall only so seeking the Face of God. Whatever good you give, shall be rendered back to you, and you shall not be dealt with unjustly.”

Surah al Baqarah, Verse 272

Alhamdulillah.

Peace.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

